Class Act

Amarillo Symphony Musicians in Your Classroom

Appropriate for Teachers & Students: K – 12th grade

Class Act is an Education program that brings the artistic leadership of the Amarillo Symphony to classrooms across the community.  Taking the form of ensemble performances in informal settings for small groups, the Class Act program creates meaningful, interactive experiences for students and musicians that will cultivate students’ knowledge and relationships with orchestral music and Amarillo Symphony musicians.  These in-school presentations include musical performances, instrument demonstrations, student participation, and Q&A sessions.  Class Act is eager to partner with area teachers to offer quality, musical experiences right in their own classrooms.  This program also makes our musicians available to clinic area ensembles in full rehearsal settings or sectionals.

Our goals with this program are:

  • To connect students with musicians of the Amarillo Symphony.
  • To create interest in performing an instrument.
  • To draw connections between great orchestral music and the music that children experience in their everyday lives.
  • To provide an educational experience.
  • To have fun!

Invite Class Act to Your School!

Reservation requests are being accepted for the 2019-2020 school year. Requests will be processed on a first-come, first-served basis. There is no charge for Class Act to visit your school thanks to the help of many generous donors.

2019-2020 Dates

Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019

Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019

Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019

Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Thursday, January 16, 2020

Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020

Wednesday, March 25, 2020
Thursday, March 26, 2020

Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020

The program is designed for classroom visits and NOT for all-school assemblies.

Send this to a friend