Posted on November 12, 2015 in

AMARILLO, TEXAS – (November 12, 2015) – The Amarillo Symphony (www.amarillosymphony.org), the leader of orchestral music in the Texas Panhandle since 1924, announces upcoming TCHAIKOVSKY’S FOURTH concert featuring the Amarillo Symphony principal cellist Madeleine Kabat on November 20 and 21 at the Globe-News Center for the Performing Arts. In addition, the concert will feature the world premiere of Chris Garcia’s, At The Ball: A Cinderella Story.

Madeleine Kabat, performed her solo debut with the Cleveland Orchestra at age 18 and recently performed at the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C. She has performed with major orchestras across the U.S. as well as internationally in China, Korea, Peru and Columbia. As an award winning musician, Madeleine holds diplomas from the Cleveland Institute of Music, Rice University, the Juilliard School and Oberlin Conservatory. She is currently the principal cellist for the Amarillo Symphony. Madeleine will perform Saint-Saëns’ classical-based Concerto No. 1 as well as Korngold’s inspiring and colorful Cello Concerto in C major.

To begin the concert, the Amarillo Symphony and the WTAMU’s Young Composer’s Initiative will present, At the Ball: A Cinderella Story by the West Texas A&M University’s composition student, Chris Garcia. The Amarillo Symphony and WTAMU’s Young Composer’s Initiative is a project launched by Music Director and Conductor Jacomo Rafael Bairos to build young regional composing talent.

“Tchaikovsky, a classical composer trapped in a romantic’s body, wrote his fourth symphony with the intention of expressing all of the complexity, tumult and passion of being alive,” said Jacomo Rafael Bairos, music director and conductor. “Tchaikovsky believed the notes of a symphony are meant to represent something that words cannot, and it was his life’s intention to express his fate. We continue to celebrate the talents and artistry of our musicians this season with Madeline Kabat, our world-class principal cellist will be performing not one, but two concertos. We are thrilled to continue our relationship with WT and BJ Brooks’ composition department through our Young Composer’s Initiative. This year we are proud get to feature Chris Garcia’s new, hot-off-the-press work, At The Ball: A Cinderella Story.”

TCHAIKOVSKY’S FOURTH will be held at the Globe-News Center for the Performing Arts on Friday, November 20 and Saturday, November 21 at 7:30 pm. Single tickets start at just $19. For more information about these performances or to purchase tickets, please visit www.amarillosymphony.org or call 806-376-8782.

The 2015 – 2016 season is sponsored in part by the Texas Commission on the Arts. Learn more about the Amarillo Symphony at www.amarillosymphony.org.

All Articles

Season Tickets On Sale Now!

Call 806.376.8782 for more information and to order.

Season Ticket Details
Buy Tickets